By Air

Due to the isolated nature of the Maldives, almost all travellers arrive by air.  There is one international airport, situated on the island of Hulhulé, which is two kilometres across the water from the capital, Malé. 

There are many scheduled and charter flights to the region. Providers change frequently according to the time of year and it is advisable to check with your local travel agent.

There is also an international airport on the southern island of Gan.  Gan is situated on the southernmost island of the Addu Atoll.  From Malé, it takes approximately 70 minutes to fly to Gan.

Malé International Airport (MLE) Tel: +960 332 5511; www.maldivesairport.aero

Airlines
The following airlines fly to Malé.
Emirates Airlines (www.emirates.com) from London via Dubai (10 hours 30 minutes flight time)
Oman Air (www.omanair.com) from London via Muscat (10 hours 30 minutes flight time)
Ethihad Airways (www.eithihadairways.com) from London via Abu Dhabi (10 hours 30 minutes flight time)
Sri Lankan Airlines (www.srilankan.aero) from London via Colombo (10 hours 30 minutes flight time) and Tokyo (10 hours 30 minutes flight time)
Qatar Airways (www.qatarairways.com) from London via Doha (10 hours 30 minutes flight time)
Meridiana (www.meridiana.it) from Rome (9 hours flight time)
Air Berlin (www.airberlin.com) from Dusseldorf (10 hours flight time) and Munich (9 hours 30 minutes flight time).
Transaero (www.transaero.ru) from Moscow (8 hours 30 minutes flight time)
Indian Airlines (www.indianairlines.com) from Bangalore (1hour 30 minutes flight time)
British Airways (www.britishairways.com) from London (10 hours 10 minus flight time)
Singapore Airlines (www.singaporeair.com) from Changi (4 hours 30 minutes flight time)
Malaysian Airlines (www.malaysianairlines.com) from Kuala Lumpur (4 hours 25 minutes flight time)
Bangkok Airways (www.bangkokair.com) from Bangkok (2 hours 20 minutes flight time)
Hainan (www.hnair.com) from Hainan, China (8 hours 45 minutes flight time)

Private Air Travel
It is possible to arrange private air travel to the Maldives. Charter companies will advise on the most appropriate plane for your trip, taking your specific requirements into account.

Private air travel around the islands and to and from India can also be arranged through the Maldives’ national airline, Maldivian (www.maldivian.aero;  -960 331 5201).